Before Boys

My aunt has a theory for women everywhere – try to remember what you loved to do before you started liking boys. Then go and do that.

That theory came to life for me this past weekend. My parents have sold their home so everything stored in their attic is being sorted. I came home and found my pile – including a box of old schoolwork. As I flipped through the pages, it became very clear what I loved to do before I started chasing boys.

I loved to write.

Story after story filled that box. Creative short stories – far better than I remembered them being. I marveled at my middle school mind’s creativity and wondered when I last allowed my imagination to run wild.

Then I came across a book of old journals.

As long as I can remember, I have loved to journal. I guess that’s why I love blogging so much. I began to read one of my journals from ninth grade. How pathetic! Every other word mentioned this boy or that boy. It seemed as though nothing else mattered to me – which probably isn’t far from the truth at the time. It appeared as though all intelligence and creativity displayed in my middle school writings had flown out the proverbial window.

So now I am trying to go back to that young girl and rediscover what really makes me tick in the deepest parts of me. It’s time to put that pen to paper again. It’s time to let my imagination run wild once again.

To that end, and thanks to Savvy Blog Services, I have finally made the leap of purchasing my own domain now and switching to self-hosting. It’s about time, right? Please update your Readers with my new site:

Thank you all for reading this blog and for supporting the little girl in me who still loves to write. Who knows where it might take me!

What did you love to do before you discovered boys? 




Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Before Boys

  1. This is such a great question! I used to love to read anything I could get my hands on. I cherished quiet reading time with books, magazines, or even textbooks. Now I take 30 minutes every night to read before bed and it’s one of my favorite parts of the day.

  2. I love that theory! Thinking back, I loved to read and write as well. I feel like I’ve slowly started getting that part of me back but it’s taken a while (sadly!).

  3. OMG!!! I ran across a few composition books that a girlfriend and i use to pass in the hall. I was soooo whiney! LOL I’m cold,I want a boyfriend, I don’t want to go to work whaa whaa lol

  4. I’ve always loved writing as well… I can’t even imagine what my 9th grade journal would be about though, lol.

    Congrats on getting your domain name!!! I’ve updated =)

  5. Megan

    I spy a Care Bear in that picture!!! I still have a garbage bag full of Care Bears in my mom’s basement. I loved them so much! I loved anything crafty as a kid, and I still enjoy it today too :)

  6. Love this post! I actually started blogging recently because of a similar story. I was visiting my parents and my dad showed that my sister found a lot of our elementary school books where the school published some creative stories. I had a story and/or poem in every one.
    I forgot how creative I was and how much I love creative writing. Blogging has definitely helped to bring me back to my roots!
    Dancing is another one … I need to get in to a dance class.
    Again, great post!!!!

  7. What a perfect question. One I need to ask my almost 13-year old daughter :)

    Do you mind if I ask who you chose to host your blog and where did you purchase your domain? I’m in the process of switching to a self hosted WP blog and want to purchase a domain. So many options and a little bit of unchartered territory for me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

